Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy reveals its full, truly insane soundtrack

Square Enix and Eidos-Montréal have announced the full selection of licensed music that will appear in Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy, and it’s a truly impressive track list.

The selection features songs from Blondie, Wang Chung, New Kids on the Block, Europe, Tears for Fears, and far too many more to list in one sentence. As I noted in my hands-on preview, “Eidos-Montréal secured the rights to pretty much half of the most recognizable ’80s hits.”

Here’s the complete selection:

  • Blondie – “Call Me”
  • Blue Oyster Cult – “Don’t Fear The Reaper”
  • Bobby McFerrin – “Don’t Worry Be Happy”
  • Hot Chocolate – “Every 1’s A Winner”
  • Wang Chung – “Everybody Have Fun Tonight”
  • Tears For Fears – “Everybody Wants To Rule The World”
  • Europe – “The Final Countdown”
  • New Kids on the Block – “Hangin’ Tough”
  • Pat Benatar – “Hit Me With Your Best Shot”
  • Bonnie Tyler – “Holding Out for a Hero”
  • KISS – “I Love It Loud”
  • Flock of Seagulls – “I Ran”
  • Culture Club – “I’ll Tumble 4 Ya”
  • Mötley Crüe – “Kickstart My Heart”
  • Simple Minds – “Love Song”
  • Rick Astley – “Never Gonna Give You Up”
  • Frankie Goes To Hollywood – “Relax”
  • Def Leppard – “Rock Rock Till You Drop”
  • Rainbow – “Since You Been Gone”
  • A-ha – “Take On Me”
  • Soft Cell – “Tainted Love”
  • Loverboy – “Turn Me Loose”
  • Autograph – “Turn Up the Radio”
  • Wham! – “Wake Me Up Before You Go-Go”
  • Scandal featuring Patty Smyth – “The Warrior”
  • Starship – “We Built This City”
  • Twisted Sister – “We’re Not Gonna Take It”
  • Billy Idol – “White Wedding”

If you’d like an early preview, you can also listen to everything in a Spotify playlist.

Keep in mind, in addition to all this licensed music, Eidos-Montréal actually wrote and recorded an entire original metal album by a fictional band called Star-Lord—in this universe, the inspiration for Peter Quill’s superhero name Clearly, a ton of effort has been put into making sure players have a boatload of music to listen to during combat and on the Milano.

In other recent Guardians news, this week brought a new trailer focused on Cosmo, the psychic Soviet dog players will encounter during the story.

Marvel’s Guardians of the Galaxy releases October 26th for PlayStation 5, Xbox Series X/S, Nintendo Switch (via cloud streaming), PlayStation 4, Xbox One, and Windows PC. 

You may also like